5 December 2014 until 4 January 2015
HFBK Design Award
of the Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst

The Design Award of the Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst, with a cash value of 4,000 euros will be awarded for the fifth year running in the context of an exhibition at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg (MKG). This year 12 design projects by students of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg (HFBK) are competing for the prize. They were chosen for their topicality, independence and high quality, and illustrate the broad spectrum of design being produced today.  The students investigate the question as to how design can contribute to shaping our future, and come up with highly individual answers: besides innovative ideas (such as the flexible garden shed, put together from wooden palettes) they carry out interactive projects which seek participative solutions to the shaping of the world we live in (e.g. in Soweto/Johannesburg, where a group of students transform a piece of waste ground into a self-organized, public space). The diversity of the project designs reflects not only the special approach which characterizes the design courses at the HFBK, but also gives important impulses which encourage us to think again in general about the way we normally treat (design) products. But this exhibition offers an inspiring itinerary, which brings together a whole range of work that makes people stop and think. The nominees for the design award 2014 are: Matteo Bauer-Bornemann | Frieder Bohaumilitzky | Fabian Dehi and Moritz Führer | Charlotte Dieckmann and Daniel Pietschmann| Magnus Gburek | Fynn-Morten Heyer | Quianli Ma | Liez Müller | Binali Önder Öner | Johanna Padge and Julia Suwalski | Miryam Pippich and Kathrin Zelger | Studio Design der Lebenswelten Marjetica Potrč. It is being presented in cooperation with the Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst and the HFBK. For further Informationen: und

Ill.: Charlotte Dieckmann and Daniel Pietschmann, garden shed at the Holstenkamp, 2013/14, Photo: Dieckmann/Pietschmann